Week 14 – To Your Health and Mine

Part Fourteen of Charles Haanel’s The Master Key has brought into sharp focus a pivotal moment for me in our course and in my life. I have been blessed with some marvellous breakthrough moments and demonstrations of the power of thought made manifest in my world which I have described in previous blogs. They have caused my great excitement, joy and, at times, bemusement. But now I’m looking back on these occurrences as playing “in the shallows” after reading Part Fourteen.

To Recognise a Cause:

The first sentence that struck me was in the introduction to the section:

“… Most persons concentrate intently upon unsatisfactory conditions, thereby giving the condition that measure of energy and vitality which is necessary in order to supply of vigorous growth [of the very thing with which they are dissatisfied]”.

To Relate the Effect:

This has led me to contemplate on the times in the past in my previous career when I found so much unsatisfactory and even downright unfair. Huge quantities of responsibility with no authority to make real change resulted in a morass of despair at the time. Now I can see how my thought processes had contributed to my condition. I can remember the anger, bitterness and frustration that circled around in my head until I was no longer the man I used to be – instead, some kind of cynical, self-centred, macabre version of myself. The result was mental and physical ill health in spades.

To Assimilate the Counsel:

So now I could see that much of my situation and its outcome was of my own making – I was not without authority, but all the time I gave it away by asserting I had no power over the situations I encountered. Haanel states in paragraph 17:

“… We find that every man is the reflection of the thought he has entertained during his lifetime. This is stamped on his face, his form, his character, his environment”.

Haanel continued in paragraph 25:

“Thought is the only reality; conditions but the outward manifestations; as the thought changes, all outward or material conditions must change in order to be in harmony with their creator, which is thought”.

So the conditions that resulted in my malaise of the time, and the outcomes of ill health to this day are brought about by thought; and by changing thought, the condition, the outcome, will change. My state of health is an unsatisfactory condition. This time, however, I know I can do something about putting things right. I now know I have the authority to improve my lot – but I cannot expect such a protracted period of ill-thought to be eradicated so quickly. Thus says Haanel on Paragraph 26:

“…[You cannot] spend twenty or thirty years of your life building up negative conditions as a result of negative thoughts, and then expect to see them all melt away as a result of fifteen or twenty minutes of right thinking”.

Thus, the road to good health is neither easy nor quick; hence to essential need for determination and persistence.

To Apply the Remedy:

Haanel shines a bright light on the awkward path ahead in paragraph 26:

“But the thought must be clear-cut, steady, fixed, definite, unchangeable; you cannot take one step forward and two steps backward…”

So, my promise to myself is that daily, I will continue to remind myself of the power of my thoughts and the omnipotence of their source. I know that I the miracle which produced me did not end at my birth. I am a miracle of nature – even the greatest of nature’s miracles.

Each time the symptoms of my illness come upon me, I shall proclaim that I am Whole, Perfect, Strong, Powerful, Loving, Harmonious and Happy. With certainty of purpose I shall proclaim my path to becoming the person I was meant to be – and this includes wholeness of body as well as mind and spirit.

I shall proclaim these thoughts regardless of the way I feel physically or mentally. I shall always think positively and with full health my goal.

This is my decision, there is no turning back. Even if I do not receive the health I seek, I will die with these proclamations on my lips, for without them, I would probably have died much sooner.

My die is cast, my boats burned. There is no more to be said, but my last proclamation:

I always keep my promises.

20 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

20 responses to “Week 14 – To Your Health and Mine

  1. Burning your boat–good on ya mate! wow, makes me look at some of the things I am doing/managing and wonder how much of my body is talking to me?! thanks

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I just read your week 14 blog and was so captivated by it that I just went back and read all your blogs from week 1. I absolultely love the way you are describing your journey and your experiences. Truly inspiring. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Very insightful and example of Hannel.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Interesting analysis John. The new powerful thoughts are stronger that the old ones so persist and win. I wish you well.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. John, thank you for sharing a very thoughtful and insightful post. Our thoughts change everything. “We become what we think about”.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hi John, loved reading your analysis of the week 14 master keys material, you really broke it down so that even one not in the course could understand and apply it to their life.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. John thank you for being so open and transparent. I agree with you that there is no going back. Our old reality is no longer an option. I stand beside you and declare “there is no turning back”.
    I am glad I came to read your post.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Indeed, John, by changing thought, the condition, the outcome, will change!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Don’t think it is an accident I came upon your post just as I am struggling with some very difficult health issues I have blogged about…so encouraged by you and join with you and your absolute commitment!

    Like

  10. Good health is something most of us take for granted–until it’s gone, and then we realize its value. What a powerful and insightful post, and what an awesome commitment to your journey to true health!

    Like

Leave a Reply

